What is LEED & Why Should You Care?

How are today’s general contractors and property developers building new and remodeling old buildings in more efficient, cost-saving, and green ways? By using LEED.

What is LEED?

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is a widely used green building rating system developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). Available for nearly all categories of building, community, and home projects, LEED provides a framework for creating healthy and efficient green buildings. Currently used in more than 165 countries and on more than 94,000 projects, LEED certification is globally recognized as a symbol of achievement in sustainable building practice.

Buildings that use LEED guidelines save water, energy, resources, support health and generate less waste by focusing on understanding materials and components’ effects on humans and the environment. By using a performance-based approach to environmental quality, LEED buildings have been proven to cost less to operate, boost employee productivity, attract tenants and encourage retention.

And LEED is right for all projects in various stages of life. From concept to final touches, upgrading hospitals, restoring historical buildings, or designing state-of-the-art data centers, LEED has guidelines to apply:

  • BD+C Building Design and Construction — new construction and major renovation.
  • ID+C Interior Design and Construction — complete interior fit-outs.
  • O+M Building Operations and Maintenance — existing buildings undergoing improvements with little or no construction.
  • ND Neighborhood Development — land development or redevelopment projects including residential or non-residential uses or a combination of both.
  • Homes — single, low-rise multi-family (1-3 stories) or mid-rise multi-family (4-6 stories)

Projects pursuing LEED certification can earn points across several categories including location and transportation, sustainable sites, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, material and resources, innovation, indoor environmental quality, regional priority, and integrative process. Based on the number of points achieved, projects are awarded one of 4 levels of LEED rating:

  • Certified (40-49 points)
  • Silver (50-59 points)
  • Gold (60-79)
  • Platinum (80+ points)

This process is designed to inspire project teams to seek innovative solutions to support public health and our environment while saving building owners money at the same time.


As a licensed recycling center, NER knows LEED standards and can help your project meet them by providing roll-offs for recyclable material on site including concrete, masonry, asphalt, brick, drywall (gypsum), wood, metal, plastic/PVC, cardboard.

With a large selection of roll-offs, you can use one container, and NER will separate the material and provide you with proper documentation to meet LEED requirements for all your projects.

Have any questions or want to learn more? We’re happy to help! Contact us today at 866-NER-CANS or contact@nerecycling.com.